Dicksboro GAA Club


December 2011



18th December 2011

2010 Under 16 Roinn A Football Final

The 2010 Roinn A Football Final was played last Sunday in Thomastown with Glenmore providing the opposition. Glenmore were certainly the hungrier team on the day and their desire for silverware made them comfortable enough winners in the end. The ‘Boro team have already won the Roinn A hurling and football championships in 2011 and so can still look back on 2011 as being a very successful year.


11th December 2011

Duggan Steel Under 16 Roinn 'A' Football Final

Dicksboro 2-6 Rower Inistioge 1-4

Our Under 16 panel made Dicksboro history last Sunday when they put another trophy in the press and completed a unique double of Roinn ‘A’ Championship hurling and football titles following their win over the Rower Inistioge in a game played in Clara. We were never behind in this game and thankfully a few scoring chances that we missed in the first half, turned out to be not a crucial as they might have been. The 'Boro were deserving leaders at halftime however, having played the more direct and stylish football. HT Dicksboro 1-2 Rower Inistioge 0-1. Our opponents came out of the blocks sprinting at the start of the second half and within ten minutes had the game back to level at 1-3 each and we looked like we were struggling. A number of key positional changes by the management team steadied the ship and we started to regain control but still with twenty eight minutes gone we were only one point in front and so anything could have happened. Thankfully, the 'Boro lads kept their heads and finished the game off clinically with a further 1-1 to leave the final score Dicksboro 2-6 Rower Inistioge 1-4. Joe Pyke, Secretary Bord na nÓg, presented 'Boro captain, Thomas Carroll with the trophy.

Panel: John Hanrick, Aaron Purcell, Evan Cody, Dylan Scott, Shane O'Brien, Robbie Fitzpatrick, Conor Doheny, Thomas Carroll(Capt), Cory Cahill, Stephen Farrell, Kevin Kenny, Jason Carroll, Darragh Holohan, Patrick Cahill, Andrew Gaffney, Liam Walsh, Mark McGarry, David Kenny, Patrick Boyd.

Video Clips


10th December 2011

Childrens Christmas Party

Santa made a special visit to Palmerstown this afternoon to the delight of numerous boys and girls who had gathered for the Christmas disco/party. Each child then had an opportunity to visit Santa in his grotto, designed and made by Anne Bawle and her helpers, where they were given a small present. The grotto proved to be a magical experience and a couple of hours of fun, games and dancing made for a lot of very happy children. A big thank you to all who helped in any way on the day.



9th December 2011


Dicksboro GAA Club’s AGM took place in the clubhouse, Palmerstown, on 9th Dec. The Chairman, Eddie Holohan, welcomed all present and called for a minutes silence for deceased members. Eddie then addressed the members and noted all the work done in the club throughout the year, such as the new ball wall and pitch drainage which all combined to make 2011 a very successful year for the club. He also gave a heartfelt thank you to all who helped during the year in the training of teams, the executive, pitch maintenance volunteers and stewards, finance and development committees, lotto sellers and workers, bar workers and all those that help out on days such as Lá na gClub and in the catering of visiting teams. He noted that our senior team is competing in the most competitive championship in the country and that they richly deserve their status and looks forward to success at that grade. Secretary, Pat Moylan, then gave a comprehensive review of the year and described the year 2011 as a year of consolidation. He noted that there are now 275 players registered between under 6 and 18 grades. Treasurer, Seamus Rochford, outlined in detail, all the income and expenditure for the year and was pleased to report that the club’s finances were in a healthy state. The final duty of the night went to Frank Morrissey, Games Chairman, who announced the Club Player of the Year was Kieran Cuddihy and Kieran was presented with the Patsy Lacey Perpetual Trophy by Niall Lacey. Club Executive for 2012: Chairman Eddie Holohan, Vice Chairman Jim Murphy, Secretary Pat Moylan, Treasurer Seamus Rochford, Registrar Niall O’Gorman, Grounds Chairman Joe Phelan, Development Chairman Simon Walton, PRO Edmund Nolan, Juvenile Chairman Pat Carroll, Games Chairman Frank Morrissey and Irish Officer Sean Moore. The Children’s Officer will be selected by the new Executive committee.


3rd December 2011

Under 16 Medal Presentations

Following a very successful year, our under 16 panel were presented with their medals at a celebration night held in their honour in Palmerstown. County Championship, County Shield Final and Carlow town winners medals were presented by Brian Cody(Kilkenny Manager) and Joe Pyke (Bord na nOg Secretary).

Sam Dunlop was MC for the night and speakers included Eddie Holohan(Chairman and mentor),Brian Fitzpatrick(Team Manager), Richie Mulrooney(trainer), Pat Carroll(Juvenile Chairman) and our two guests.

A framed photo of the team was also presentated to Richie Mulrooney and Paddy Grace (mentor).

Presentation Photos