Dicksboro GAA Club

June 2013

28th June 2013

Dicksboro Golf Classic

1st -Michael Keane, Peter Ryan, Kevin Donoghue.

2nd -Liam O’Grady, Pierce Cullen, Fergal Cantwell.

3rd -Barry Walsh, Seamus Malone, Paddy Bollard.

4th -Paul McCabe, Milo Condon, Derek Kinahan.

5th -Mike Devane, Kevin Cleere, C. O’Neill. 

6th -Sean O’Shea, John McEvoy, Nick O’Farrell.

 7th -Robert Shortall, Dan O’Neill, Mark Dowling.

8th -Pierce Scott, Evan Ferris, Jim Kerwick.

9th -Mick McGarry, Aidan Brennan, Kevin Dolan.

10th -T. Butler, Michael Nolan, Margaret Butler.

11th -Dermot Conlon, Rory Conlon, Tom Browne.

12th -Darragh Buggy, Michael Hayes, Nick O’Shea.

13th -A. McDonald, M. Shortall, J. Delaney.

14th -Brendan Tynan, Liam Kerwick, David Gaffney.

15th -Michael Raggett, D. Shelly, Paddy Raggett.

In the juvenile section, it proved to be girl power with our only all-girl team of Leah Treacy, Eabha and Doireann Sloyan winning the laurels with John Treacy, Conor O’Mahony, Ben O’Sullivan and Paddy King coming in a close second.  

25th June 2013

Aylward Cup

Dicksboro 4-10  Glenmore 0-12

Our last display in the Aylward Cup against Mooncoin lead to a disappointing defeat and so it was nice to get back to winning ways this evening in Palmerstown. The 'Boro's first score came after three minutes from Shane Maher who added another 1-1 before the end of the match. In the first fourteen minutes the teams were level on four separate occasions, but the 'Boro's break came on the twentieth minute with a free from Martin Gaffney around 35 yards out that made its way straight to the back of the Glenmore net. A further 1-2 before half time gave Dicksboro a well-deserved half time lead of 2-6 to 0-7.

Marco Ruessman was brought on as a substitute at half time and quickly made his mark on the game with a point after less than thirty seconds. Glenmore responded with four points before the 'Boro could register another score. The 'Boro were back to fighting form with this goal in the eleventh minute from Shane Maher. We dominated the last ten minutes of play adding 1-3 to Glenmore's 0-1.  Dicksboro's defence put in a very good performance throughout this game, with Glenmore only having one clear chance at goal in each half, the first saved by Philly Hogan in the first half when he cleared what looked like a certain goal from the line and another in the second half when Cillian Breathnach bravely came out to throw his body in the way of a goal-ward bound shot.

Panel:  Cillian Breathnach, Mikey Hayes, Danny Kenny, Philly Hogan, John Fagan, David Glynn, Kevin Nolan, Cillian Starr (0-2), Willie Cuddihy, Derek O'Gorman, Shane Maher (1-2), Martin Gaffney (2-3, 1-3f), Peter Turley(1-0), Eoin Fennelly(0-1), Shane O'Brien, Ciarán Gough, James Gittens, Marco Ruessman (0-1), DD Molloy, Enda O'Donoghue, Dylan Scott.

15th June 2013

Naas Tournament

Well done to the Dicksboro U10 panel who won the Cup competition at the Naas GAA Tournament today. The Cup team defeated Moycarkey – Borris, Naomh Eanna and Birr in the group stage, defeated Ahane from Limerick at the semi-final stage and were too strong for Naomh Eanna in the final. The Shield team defeated Rosegreen but were narrowly beaten by Naas and eventual winners Athenry in their Group games.  Dicksboro panel ; Charlie Delahunty, Stephen Dermody, Eoghan O’Neill, Nick Doheny, Vinny Roberts, Eamon O’Reilly, Rory O’Connor, Zac McHardy, Louis Walsh, Sean Maher, Evan Rowe, Charlie Nolan, Luca Loli, Dylan Lacey, Liam Connolly, Daire Mahon, Timmy Clifford, James Carroll, Zac O’Dolan, Kevin Moore, Cillian Hackett, John Keane, Michael Raggett, David Mulrooney, Harry Shine.

15th June 2013

Dicksboro Under 8 Tournament held today in aid of the O'Neill Centre.
11th June 2013

Under 14 Roinn 'A' Hurling League

Dicksboro 4-11  Ballyhale Shamrocks 0-3

The 'Boro under 14 Roinn 'A' team collected another two points in the league to bring them up to mid-table with four matches to play, with this convincing win against Ballyhale Shamrocks in Palmerstown.  As the scoreline reflects, it was the 'Boro all the way but it has to be said that the Shamrocks were weakened on the night due to the absence of a couple of their key players.

Panel:Kieran Galvin, Jack Connolly, Johnny Minogue, TJ Stynes, Gavin Walsh, Eoghan Moylan, Liam Stynes, Sean Boyd, Mark Nolan, Nicky Burke, David Campion, Tadhg Butler, Evan Clarke, Brian Cleere, Mark Kenny, Tommy Farrell.

8th June 2013

Denis Molloy Sand and Gravel Under 12 Tournament

Our annual Denis Molloy Sand and Gravel sponsored under 12 Tournament was held today in a sun kissed Palmerstown.  This year we had two groups of three teams, with Na Fianna (Mountmellick) and Thomastown in our group, while the other group consisted of James Stephens, Erin's Own (Castlecomer) and Na Fianna (Dublin).
Our opening game against Thomastown was very close but the concession of two quick goals near the end of the first half was crucial as we lost by 1-4 to 2-4.
Our Laois visitors really put it up to us in our second game, leading at HT by 3-1 to 2-2 but a very good second half performance from the 'Boro boys sealed this game for us on a final score of Dicksboro 3-5 Na Fianna 3-3.
The last game of the day for the 'Boro was against Erin's Own and this was probably the most enjoyable match of the day with both teams showing a lot of skill but we were narrowly pipped at the end by a couple of points.
Congratulations and thank you to all involved with organisation and catering on the day

Panel:  David Delahunty, Padraic Moylan, David Conway, Finian O'Brien, Cian Rowe, Liam Hennessy, Conor Egan, David Kellegher, Colm O'Grady, Kevin Fitzpatrick, Morgan McEnroe, Keith O'Connor, Oisin Tynan.

1st June 2013

Under 14 Roinn 'A' Hurling League

The last week was a successful one for our under 14 Roinn ‘A’ panel who put their first points on the league table with a very low scoring game against Erin’s Own in a very wet Palmerstown which ended in a draw, 0-6 each and a very good win over Clara, also held in Palmerstown, a game which ended at Dicksboro 6-10 Clara 1-4. 

Panel: Nicky Burke, Gavin Walsh, Johnny Minogue, TJ Stynes, Stephen Cass, Eoghan Moylan, Liam Stynes, Liam Brennan Smyth, Mark Nolan, Evan Clarke, David Campion, Sean Boyd, Mark Kenny, Brian Cleere, Jack Connolly, Padraic Moylan, Darren Mullan, Eoin de Butlier, Tadhg Butler, William O’Sullivan.