Dicksboro GAA Club

March 2013

30th March 2013 

All County Junior Hurling League

Dicksboro 4-8  Bennettsbridge 1-16

Our Junior hurlers opening game of the season against last year's Junior County finalists, Bennettsbridge, in the All County Junior hurling league was always going to be a big test for us and we came through the test with an A+ after clinching a last minute point to win.  Bennettsbridge were 1-3 to 0-0 up after nighteen minutes and looking like they were cruising when a 'Boro '70 was (thankfully) poorly struck, floating into the square, where Brian Dollard pulled in the air and sent it to the net.  Our next score came four minutes later with a Darragh Buggy point and we had to wait for another nine minutes before our next, an Evan Guilfoyle goal, in what was a low scoring half for the 'Boro.  Ht Dicksboro 2-1 Bennettsbridge 1-7.

For most of the first quarter of the second half, Bennettsbridge maintained a three or four point lead but our break  came on the seventeenth minute when Tom Manning, who had a very good game, pulled first time on a ball arriving in the square to raise the green flag and leave us trailing by only a point.  Two minutes later it was Mason Clifford's ture to raise the green flag and the 'Boro were now in the lead for the first time in the match.  It was now the 'Boro's turn to pull away, tapping over another couple of points.  At the end of the thirty minutes, the 'Boro were two points ahead (4-7 to 1-14) but four minutes of injury time had to be played and two pointed frees from the Bridge in the space of two minutes meant everything was level and it looked like it would end like that until Evan Guilfoyle pointed for the 'Boro in the last minute of injury time to win the game.  Ft  Dicksboro 4-8  Bennettsbridge 1-16.

Panel:  Cillian Breathnach, Kevin Nolan, Mason Clifford, James Murphy, Philly Hogan, DD Molloy, Michael Rafter, Willie Sainsbury, Enda O'Donoghue, Mikey Hayes, Jamie Lynch, Jessie Watters, Willie Cuddihy, David Carroll, Derek O'Gorman, Evan Guilfyle, BrĂ­an Dollard, Conor Maharaj, Eoin Fennelly, Darragh Buggy.